From Nuclear Desert to Fantastical Planet (with Dragons)

I’m really starting to enjoy Bethesda Game Studios and what they’ve done to two iconic franchises. First, I played through Obsidian Entertainment‘s Fallout: New Vegas and got to experience the Mojave Desert after The Great War that basically blew up the surface of Earth and reshaped it into a bleak, semi-irradiated wasteland. Las Vegas has been remade into a den of debauchery for the somewhat rich and/or powerful (as usual). In the midst of this battle lies the fate of Hoover Dam in a power struggle between the New California Republic, a faction that has resettled California with holdings in Nevada, Baja California (in Mexico), Oregon, and places around the Colorado River, and Caesar’s Legion, a ruthless and brutal slave faction themed after Ancient Rome.

Afterwards, I moved right into a house game. I went back to the planet of Nirn (which I hadn’t visited since last playing Oblivion on my Xbox 360 a few weeks ago earlier this summer) and returned to the continent of Tamriel in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. So far, I’m rather enjoying it. I like the new revamped leveling system and how there are no preset classes. In essence, you build the character you want as you go. I even went so far as to buy one of the DLC packs, Hearthfire, in order to build a getaway manor for my little family, consisting of my first housecarl (i.e. bodyguard), who’s also my in-game wife, and an orphan girl I met in the park and subsequently adopted.

So that’s just about everything that’s been going on recently. Slither on, my friends.

Leave a Reply

